• Welcome to Margaretta Schools

2012-08-08 Board Minutes (Special)


The Margaretta Board of Education met in special session at 8:00 A.M. on Wednesday August 8, 2012 at the Administrative Offices.

Mrs. McMahon called the meeting to order with roll call:

Mr. Lippert: present,
Mr. Bodey: present,
Mr. Rankin: present,
Mrs. Kelble: present,
Mrs. McMahon: present.

Treasurer's Report

Mr. Hammond told the Board that last evening it was determined that the 1.50 mill Permanent Improvement levy passed by nine (9) votes. However, when he spoke to the Board of Elections, he was informed that there are nine (9) provisional ballots in Erie County, and possibly some in Sandusky County as well, that the Board of Elections has to wait ten (10) days before they can be counted towards the election results. If the margin between yes votes and no votes is seven or fewer after the provisional ballots are counted, there would be a statutory re-count. Therefore, he is recommending that the Board take the action to place the same levy on the November 6, 2012 election given the uncertainty of the results from last evening and that today is the deadline to file the necessary board resolution with the Board of Elections. If it turns out the levy did pass, we can take action to "pull" the levy so that it will not appear on the November election.

Motion by Mr. Rankin, seconded by Mrs. Kelble, to adopt Board Resolution 12-13-10, to place a 1.50 mill Permanent Improvement renewal Levy on the November 6, 2012 General Election; Roll call: Mr. Bodey: aye; Mr. Rankin: aye; Mrs. Kelble: aye; Mr. Lippert: aye; Mrs. McMahon: aye.

Superintendent's Report

Personnel Actions

Certified Staff:

Motion by Mr. Bodey, seconded by Mrs. McMahon, to employ Keith Bonnigson as Race-to-the-Top Consultant for a maximum of thirty (30)days: Roll Call: Mr. Rankin: aye; Mrs. Kelble: aye; Mr. Lippert: aye; Mr. Bodey: aye; Mrs. McMahon: aye.

Motion by Mr. Lippert, second by Mr. Bodey, to adjourn the meeting having no further business to come before the board; Roll call: Mrs. Kelble: aye; Mr. Lippert: aye; Mr. Bodey: aye; Mr. Rankin: aye; Mrs. McMahon: aye.

Meeting adjourned at 8:07 A.M.

Respectfully Submitted

Joann McMahon, President

Jude T. Hammond



School Board Members

Mr. Kent Miller, Vice President

Mr. Paul Schoenegge

Mr. Brian Sutorius

Mr. Andrew Warner, President

Mrs. Mandi Yetter

Mr. Dennis Mock, Superintendent

Mrs. Diane Keegan, Treasurer

Margaretta Board of Education
305 S. Washington St.
Castalia, OH 44824
Phone: (419) 684-5322
Fax: (419) 684-9003

District Calendar