• Welcome to Margaretta Schools

2014-02-21 Board Minutes (Special)


The Margaretta Board of Education met in special session at 5:00 P.M. on Friday February 21, 2014 at the Administrative Offices.

Mrs. McMahon called the meeting to order with roll call:

Mrs. Kelble: present,

Mr. Lippert: present,

Mr. Miller: present,

Mr. Schoenegge: present,

Mrs. McMahon: present.

Mr. Kurt and Mr. Hammond presented the Board with a draft of a brochure for the search of a new Superintendent, and an application form. Mr. Schoenegge recommended several modifications to the text of the document. The Board agreed on the timetable for the search process. The goal is to have a decision on a new Superintendent for the May Board meeting and for the Superintendent to be in place by August 1, 2014.

The Board decided not to contract with an outside organization to conduct the search. It was decided to post the position with the Ohio School Boards Association and on the District's website. Submittals will be retained by Mr. Hammond and made available for the Board members. The posting for the position will end March 28, 2014. Interviews will begin the first week of April.

There was a discussion on the interview process. It will be determined at a later date if the Board would like to have members of various organizations, community members, and/or staff members involved in the process.

Mr. Schoenegge asked about the use of Rockwell Springs Trout Club which led to a brief discussion on whether the Board should have someone apply for membership to Rockwell. No decision was made on the matter.

Mrs. Kelble inquired about the status of the Erie Group tax appeal case. Mr. Hammond responded that the case was resolved and gave a brief summary of the process.

Motion by Mr. Lippert, seconded by Mrs. Kelble to adjourn the meeting having no further business to come before the board. Roll call: Mrs. Kelble: aye, Mr. Lippert: aye, Mr. Miller: aye, Mr. Schoenegge: aye, Mrs. McMahon: aye.

Meeting adjourned at 5:58 P.M.

Respectfully Submitted

Joann McMahon

Board President

Jude T. Hammond




School Board Members

Mr. Kent Miller, Vice President

Mr. Paul Schoenegge

Mr. Brian Sutorius

Mr. Andrew Warner, President

Mrs. Mandi Yetter

Mr. Dennis Mock, Superintendent

Mrs. Diane Keegan, Treasurer

Margaretta Board of Education
305 S. Washington St.
Castalia, OH 44824
Phone: (419) 684-5322
Fax: (419) 684-9003

District Calendar